Building a Better Bloke

The Monday bitch

Posted in The Monday bitch by Sam de Brito on December 6, 2009

Here’s your chance to moan to the rapidly growing audience here at Building a Better Bloke about anything and everything that pissed you off about your weekend or yet another crappy Monday at work.

To get the ball rolling, I’m gonna ask the universe to deliver me from my new neighbour – an aging northern beaches surfer with a $5 million dollar house (we live in a flat next door) and the worst taste in BBQ music I’ve yet to encounter.

Yesterday my girlfriend and I were treated to all 14 tracks of Daryl Braithwaite’s 1988 album Edge with said neighbour singin’ along “to the good bits”.

Just when we thought it was over … he stuck it on again. I’m buying some eggs for next weekend.

Tagged with: ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ella said, on December 6, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Let’s see…oh yes the kids pissed me off when they wouldnt go to bed, the husband pissed me off when he wouldnt give me any, then the next day at about 5am, my stupid drunk neighbour threw away his empty glass bottles in his bin ONE BY ONE, I heard every single one of them break AAAAAAARRRRRGGHHHHHH!!!!!!! Bloody moron! I was out of bed at 5:10, frustrated from the night before, tired from being woken up and homicidal because of my inconsiderate neighbour!!

    I hope you all had good weekends.

  2. Lukey said, on December 7, 2009 at 11:27 am

    It’s another Monday morning and I’m sitting at my office desk facing another onslaught of a colleague’s relentless whingeing. It’s 11am and my ears are already bleeding. She does nothing but complain about everyone and everything, and those of us unfortunate enough to be stuck in the same office space are forced to listen to every single word. Why can’t people just take action about things that upset them, rather than whine to others about it? ’tis a cruel world that requires us to spend more time at work with strangers than with friends and family.

    Other than that, good weekend.

    P.S Get off Daryl’s case man; he’s a musical genius! Although Rise was a far better record.

    P.P.S I’m only saying this because I know his niece and she’s uber hot.

  3. Forrest said, on December 7, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I’m recently out of a 2 year relationship which had its ups and downs. By the end we were both masssively unhappy. I was happy to get out some months ago and am now getting blown by a talented 18 year old…But now the ex has a new bloke on the scene and I can’t stand it, she was such a part of my life, I dreamt about her last night, it was fucked.

  4. davo 25 said, on December 7, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    i got sunburnt…

    dude, if i can offer some bad advice, focus on the facts
    “we were both masssively unhappy”
    “now getting blown by a talented 18 year old” <– winner

    its just the standard male I want it all mentality, we all have it, give it a bit longer and you will be sweet

  5. Robert said, on December 7, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Sam,

    If that’s the worst thing in your life, you’ve got it good.

    So your neighbor was making noise during the day/evening on a weekned that you didn’t particularly like.

    iddums.

    Put some headphones on, or play some music of your own ( loud enough to drown him out in your place, not the whole neighborhood ). Go out, exercise, shoot some pool, whatever…You do have options.

    There are also worse things than Darryl..eg, my housemate and her new bf making ‘noise’…

    If he does it all the time, or at 2 in the morning, discuss the issue and find some compromise, and if that doesn’t work…Well, then you resort to eggs ( etc ).

    Me, well, lets say I’m getting a lot better at pool.

  6. Tinman said, on December 7, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I could whine about all the aspects of my life that suck (and there would be plenty of material), but I was too busy working all weekend to be worried about all that other stuff.

    As for your neighbour with the Darryl Braithwaite problem, why not just reciprocate? May I suggest “Decade of Therion” by Behemoth for some pure eardrum devastation.

    Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2PDNyD9G0M

    • Mags said, on December 8, 2009 at 12:08 pm

      I can highly recommend the ‘Nightmare on Rotterdam’ hardcore dance series – have driven my fighting, bogan neighbours inside on more than one occasion.. 😉

  7. Sam de Brito said, on December 7, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I have it great Robert.
    The only thing that would make it better is your sack under my boot heel.

  8. Stuart said, on December 7, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    I had an RDO today. I didn’t leave the house until 3:30pm.

    That is all.

  9. Bolty said, on December 8, 2009 at 12:30 am

    I tore my calf muscle when i kicked my hormonal backchatting bitching whining screaming wailing daughter’s arse out the door after she refused to pick up the dog’s shit, that she said she’d done and had promised to do before we got her a dog, so i could take her and her sisters out for a special day…

    Now I’m limping and there’s still fucking dog shit everywhere!

  10. Mike said, on December 8, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Strained every muscle I didn’t know I had playing cricket Sat,got two wickets, met a ‘nice’ woman Sat night, then cut my hand surfing on Sunday. All in all a good weekend really. Then work Monday!

  11. Em said, on December 8, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    I moved home from campus for the summer, back to my alcoholic mother’s house, to find that she’s drunk the bottle of wine I had under my bed, my sister still has chronic depression, our pet died, and nothing much has changed.
    And I too, am sunburnt.
    I also could very well be the 18 year old mentioned above, if a couple of details from that story were different.


Leave a Reply

