Building a Better Bloke

Submissions please

Posted in Uncategorized by Sam de Brito on November 27, 2009

By Sam de Brito

People – you may have noticed the pace of new posts here has dropped off a little in the last few weeks.

I’d love to be able to give you some fresh reading every weekday but that’s not going to happen if it’s only me contributing. If this site is going to work, you’re going to have to pitch in.

I am quite happy to publish work by female authors – as long as it talks to a male audience.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bustard said, on November 27, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Listen up people. Sam’s getting cranky. Everyone to their keyboards! Chop! Chop!

    We love you Sam. We’ll try.

  2. Mike said, on November 27, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I’ve got no good content. I can barely grow a beard.

  3. Another Girl Reader said, on November 27, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Thanks for inviting women’s input, Sam – many of us really do care about the men around us. I suspect you might have opened the floodgates, though.

    Hey Mike, why would you want to grow a beard, anyway? A moustache I can understand, it’s Movember after all, but a beard?

  4. Mike said, on November 28, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Beard equaits to manly-ness – even if you shave it off every morning. It would suck shaving every morning though.

    Here’s an idea… Difference betwen confidance and arrogance. I’d like to think i’m a confidant person, but saying that is fairly arrogant.

    • Mike said, on November 28, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      Sorry about the spelling mistakes. I’ve googled the words, equates* manliness*

      • Ash Simmonds said, on November 30, 2009 at 1:54 pm

        Google “confidant” too, unless you were going for irony…

    • The Weatherman said, on November 30, 2009 at 2:58 pm

      “It would suck shaving every morning though”

      Yep, it does, but I hate having a beard just that little bit more.

      As I get older I’ve become lazier, sometimes I’ll stretch to skipping a day, but the dislike of beards thing usually wins out.

  5. Girl_Reader said, on November 30, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Nice idea, Sam. I am not sure I could add to the debate to be honest. I will have a chat to some of my men friends and encourage them to submit something.

  6. Ben said, on December 1, 2009 at 10:57 am

    tough one

    especially as the wisest are the least likely to “get on a soap box” :\

    quality over quantity though

    • pat said, on December 1, 2009 at 2:39 pm

      Exactly.

      Tell us Sam, have you received more submissions after your request? You at least get recompense for putting yourself out there in the proverbial public noose. It’s a bit daunting for the uninitiated. Will we at least get a pat on the head if we contribute?

    • Laudanum said, on December 11, 2009 at 11:05 pm

      Sam won’t publish anything better than he can write, which rules out the wisest to begin with. He will, however, most likely pilfer ideas from them for his own bill-paying blog AMAL.

  7. Sam de Brito said, on December 2, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Pats from other readers.

    • Laudanum said, on December 11, 2009 at 11:11 pm

      Sam thinks displaying praise is for sooks and women.

  8. sunny said, on December 9, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Define “talks to a male audience”

  9. C.S. Magor said, on December 15, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I would be more than happy to throw the odd post together now and again. I have all the biological requirements for being a feller, I think for myself and can slap together a reasonably well written bit of prose pretty damned fast (if I do say so myself).

    Be warned, I am an occasional troll – I did post a ten commandments of cheating on AMAL some time ago, but for the most part I think I am pretty easy to get along with and my independent line of thinking will probably add some value to the collective wisdom on this site.

  10. Soon soon said, on January 11, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Urgh…i intended to post last year, just toooo busy. But I have decided on a topic and will post sometime soon in this grand brand spanking new year.

  11. Peter Lawless said, on February 19, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Maybe going back a bit here – apologies if required – a friend of mine sent me a copy of “Endangered Species”.

    One of the beautiful things about our country and language is its diversity (I promised myself I would never use that word) between States. Fritz and Devon = polony; cozzies, trunks = bathers etc etc

    Perhaps amongst us mere males we can share “Endangered Species”, build an Ocktionary (any other suggestions for a name welcome), and commit it for posterity on/via the Internet for future generations.

    In another life I lectured and tutored and a local (Western Australian) university. One day I put up the following words to a group of teenage Australians.

    Doog
    Ally
    Taw
    Tom Thumb
    Double Banger
    Broggy
    Ding*
    Dago*
    Wop*
    Boondy
    Skiddies
    Slash
    Local bike
    Schooner
    Pony
    Glass
    Pot

    (*In my youth none of these were considered derogatory, just a means of differentiation of the origin of immigrants.)

    Not one, not one, knew ANY of the real definitions as per the Australian vernacular.

    So, I believe it’s up to us to reclaim our linguistic heritage and – and with the permission of the Webmaster – start to record the very words ALL of Australia was founded on.

    Whaddaya f*ckon reckon?


Leave a Reply

