Building a Better Bloke

Gentlemen start your engines

Posted in Housekeeping by Sam de Brito on October 7, 2009

By Sam de Brito

Gentleman and ladies, consider this Sam de Brito’s home away from the All Men Are Liars beach house. Yes, the decor is a little lame, but if the traffic warrants it, I will renovate and put in some personal touches. Up to you.

This is a place for discussion of many issues and it’s my intention that mine will not be the only voice heard here. If you have something to say, send me a submission to samdebrito@gmail.com.

If they’re shit, plagarised, poorly spelled, lame, regurgitated or repetitive, they won’t get run. I will not be paying for these posts, but hopefully, they will give you a chance to expose your work to an audience larger than you’d encounter otherwise.

Here we go.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. b. said, on October 9, 2009 at 12:10 am

    I’m impressed!

  2. I'm a small guy said, on October 9, 2009 at 2:38 am

    Nice. I like the irony of the third last sentence.

  3. michael said, on October 13, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    lol sam. give it a rest. please?

  4. Don't ask me silly... said, on October 15, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    So ‘ladies’ can have their voice heard here too huh?! Or is this solely a forum for male voices on the subject of better blokedom?

  5. Mike said, on October 15, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Good question Silly,

    I have recently discovered “Liars” and find it amusing and yes, annoying reading some of the negative comments from a minority of the women responders. Of course some of the content only makes sense to men and can appear sexist or non-pc but if you don’t like it don’t read it.

    So hopefully if the ‘ladies’ do discover this forum they will give us due respect.

  6. Darren said, on October 16, 2009 at 1:03 am

    Hi Sam, interesting to see what becomes of this. I look forward to reading it.
    In the meantime, can you change your wordpress settings so rss readers like google reader get the entire article in the window (like AMAL). Keep up the good writing,
    Cheers

  7. Sam de Brito said, on October 17, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Women are free to submit articles – but they’ll have to be pertinent – not more of the “what men have to do to make us happy” horseshit you read in 85,578 women’s mags.

    • Pointy Arrow said, on October 21, 2009 at 11:31 pm

      Pertinent to whom? Personally I don’t read ‘woman’s mags’. I consider your work to be a community service Sam, which I think is making a difference to Aussie blokedom, dragging it into the 21st century, so I’ll see if I can come up with a ‘pertinent’ topic before the year is out…

  8. tryingmybest said, on October 21, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Why is it that we have those kind of years where we seem to lurch from one frickin issue to another? You know what I mean – you break up with your best mate (yep she was), you move cities, you change jobs…lucky you still have your kids. (and as far as I’m concerened, they are never too much trouble)

    What is it that we did (or didn’t do)? Was it not paying homage to your God (insert appropriate God name here), was it Karma for being a commitment phobe – even though you know you should just jump in, come what may, something keeps you from doing exactly that…..or are you just an unlucky bugger and next year will be better?

    After one of those years in 2009 – I’m willing 2010 to hurry itself up – I need to feel those cleansing first drips of hope from 2010. I wonder if there are others that have the same desire? Although I am not sure why a date change from one year to another is some amazing elixir, maybe it’s just that metaphoric line in the sand – or is it stronger than that…is it the symbolic ruling off of chapter 2009, so that you are mentally ready for chapter 2010?

    I don’t know that answer, but whether I’m in Fed Square Melbourne, or under the bridge in Sydney come 11.59pm on Dec 31st 2009 – I’ll be trying my best in 2010…..come what may.


Leave a Reply

